Action Hero: Association of Fundraising Professionals

National Philanthropy Day Awards Luncheon to be Held at Madonna Inn

The Association of Fundraising Professionals’ (AFP) mission is to promote philanthropy globally and to provide professional development training for fundraisers. Their code of ethics is broadly recognized as a guiding document for all fundraising professionals and their more than 230 chapters around the world provide local resources to their members.

The Association of Fundraising Professionals San Luis Obispo County Chapter (AFP SLOCO) will be holding their second annual National Philanthropy Day Awards Luncheon on November 15, 2016 at the Madonna Inn. The awards for Outstanding Philanthropist of the Year and Outstanding Youth in Philanthropy will be presented.

“We are excited to provide this opportunity to celebrate local individuals, foundations or businesses that are inspirational examples of the power of philanthropy,” said Matthew Cottle, president of AFP SLOCO Board.

Candace and Bert Forbes will receive Outstanding Philanthropists of the Year for their devotion to arts, education, health care and social services. Their longstanding commitment and support has made an enormous impact on the quality of life for our community for over two decades.

Five local young girls – Hannah Makowetski, Zoe Makowetski, Hattie Taylor, Violette Nava and Camille Sherod – will receive the Outstanding Youth in Philanthropy Award for volunteering hundreds of hours to Project Surf Camp which benefits children with special needs on the Central Coast.

For more information and tickets to the luncheon or to get involved, visit

« PREV  |  NEXT »